PDA

View Full Version : [C] Check if a file is already opened

Cene
February 29th, 2008, 06:01 PM
Hello,

How can I check if a certain file is already opened via fopen() in C?

I know there is is_open() for C++. What is the equivalent for C?

kaens
February 29th, 2008, 06:37 PM
I'm not entirely sure, but I don't think you can in standard C.

Kazade
February 29th, 2008, 06:48 PM
I guess you could use ftell to get the current position in the stream. If it returns -1L then I think you can assume that it's closed (or there is something wrong anyway)

http://www.cplusplus.com/reference/clibrary/cstdio/ftell.html

kaens
February 29th, 2008, 06:54 PM
I'm not really a C coder, so I could be wrong on this, but that seems like that could get a bit sketchy.

Kazade
February 29th, 2008, 07:10 PM
Yeh, it's not perfect. I guess it depends on the situation...

Obivously you can do this:

FILE* myFile = 0;
myFile = fopen(blah);
if (myFile == 0) {
//something went wrong while opening
}

then when you close the file do this:

if (fclose(myFile) == 0) { //close was successful
myFile = 0;
}

So checking if myfile != 0 would be a check for openess. Unless of course something happened to the file between open and close (which will almost certainly leave a broken stream) in which case ftell would work. ftell returns -1 on error, if that happens then the file is not open and valid.

It's not quite the same, you are assuming that a non valid stream is closed (which is not exactly what we want) but I believe that should be adequate.

Mr. C.
February 29th, 2008, 07:45 PM
There is no way to know that another file is fopen'ed this way. The same file may be opened by many processes.

ftell reports on the open stream supplied via the fp argument; it is not global and has no knowledge of other file pointers.

fyplinux
February 29th, 2008, 09:55 PM
There is no way to know that another file is fopen'ed this way. The same file may be opened by many processes.