PDA

View Full Version : compatibility of old sdram: pc133, 100, 66

afeasfaerw23231233
February 27th, 2008, 03:26 PM
i think it is right to post this here: i find out there's an interesting phenomenon on old box [pII, pIII] -- if you insert different brand of SDRAM with the same speed, it is very likely the speed will drop. e.g. my pIII 933mhz box have 3 stick of ram: 2 x hynix PC133 128MB and 1 x NEC[?] PC133 128MB. but if you put them together they would run at PC100. if you put only two of them they would run at pc133. would it be even better if i just install 2 of them? the trade-off is losing 1/3 memory for 1/3 faster speed. i wonder if you guys encounter similar problem

tnseditor
February 28th, 2008, 04:59 AM
I haven't had any problem with ram speeds with the older computers I have worked with. I am not an expert, but I would rather have more ram than faster. Especially today I think that more ram is better.

koleoptero
February 28th, 2008, 05:06 AM
I've had issues with sdram in the past. I had 2x128mb and when I tried to install another one (pc133 too) they just wouldn't work.

In your case though I'd go with using them all. The drop in performance will be greater if ram fills up and the system starts swapping.

BDNiner
February 28th, 2008, 05:19 AM
I have had problems in the past with old motherboards that have 3 memory slots. You have less performance with 3 sticks installed as opposed to 2.

sp0nge
February 28th, 2008, 05:22 AM
Greater performance in what way? And how noticable is this? I have a box with this 3rd slot and I've been thinking about filling it. I'd like to know more about how much effect (negative or positive) this could have on the machine.

futureproof
February 28th, 2008, 05:29 AM
I know with DDRII memory that if you use both channels the overall speed of the ram drops. I don't think many motherboards support all DIMM slots being used at full speed. Try a google search for more answers but I'm sure it's a common thing.

Iam138