PDA

View Full Version : Linux = to no standars and kernel messed up!!

nrayever
September 30th, 2005, 05:06 AM
Today at my university, IEEE student members had a reunion to discuss a bunch of stuff. I'm actually a member of IEEE, but the reunion before was the first reunion i attended. This time i was decided to talk about LInux. Then a guy that was in charge of computers stand up and talk some stuff, so i told him "so what's up with linux, IEEE and the university??" He told me:

IEEE and Linux had not the same "standards" and ideals. Linux is Promiscuous.

That answer shocked me!! Because he's a linux user, and he likes to program and stuff like it. When the reunion was over, i reached him to try to discuss about that.

So he told me:

As a programmer i know that linux don't use any standards and IEEE always want to have technical datsheet of anything.

Just look at the linux kernel source code, it's a ****ing mess!! That is because linux is free and you don't follow any standar. So if a developer see the code he can't do nothing, because it's not understandable.

He continued talking about a group that exists at my university of linux users, that they would like to promote linux, but not using IEEE and bla bla bla bla...........

This guy really disappointed me. We all know that Linux has many flavors and maybe a less amount of standards, but saying that linux has no "technical datasheet" and because of that, IEEE and Linux must not be combined was pretty stupid!! So then the source code??? What's for?? According to him, is just a bunch of code that is not understandable. Right know i would like to hear some opinions about this!!

Because maybe this type of stupid "Linux Users", as he thinks he is, are damaging Linux to evolve. Do you think he is really a linux user?? Maybe i don't have enough skills to make a program, but i try to cooperate with linux community buying linux devices, t-shirts, etc... and the 2 most importants of all:

1) Not using M$