PDA

View Full Version : Comments on this quote on Python?

littlegreenman
December 3rd, 2004, 10:04 PM
Hi all,

I am starting to learn Python. I am a beginner in the world of programming (know some HTML, know some Basic from the time of the Spectrum 48K, and that's that), but read the Python Help file on Ubuntu, found it interesting and started playing with it.

I found this quote on http://www.computershopper.co.uk/shopper/labs/64701/python.html

"Python's only real drawback is that it has no facilities to allow the beginner to create graphics or games, which makes it a little duller for the novice than the likes of DarkBASIC. It also doesn't have a wide acceptance in the professional programming world except as a scripting language on non-Windows machines, and it isn't built for speed or efficiency. However, if you learn Python you are well positioned to understand the more important object-oriented languages. Python is a good choice for learning but it isn't particularly powerful."

Would be very interested to read any comments you may have.

Thanks.

jdodson
December 3rd, 2004, 10:14 PM
Hi all,

I am starting to learn Python. I am a beginner in the world of programming (know some HTML, know some Basic from the time of the Spectrum 48K, and that's that), but read the Python Help file on Ubuntu, found it interesting and started playing with it.

I found this quote on http://www.computershopper.co.uk/shopper/labs/64701/python.html