PDA

View Full Version : Starcraft with wine error



fedex1993
February 21st, 2008, 01:22 AM
okay i got starcraft installed on wine but now my only problem is when i go to play the game i get
Starcraft is unable to read a required file. Your starcraft CD may not be in the CDROM drive. PLease ensure that the starcraft disc is in the cd rom drive. well it is inside of the cd rom drive and i can install it again it needed but it just wont play the game and ideas?

PmDematagoda
February 21st, 2008, 01:50 AM
This thread has been moved to the Wine section.

fedex1993
February 21st, 2008, 01:59 AM
yes now it will never get repleid to lol

fedex1993
February 22nd, 2008, 03:39 AM
Bump Come On People

SBFC
February 22nd, 2008, 11:46 PM
Use a NoCD crack.

fedex1993
February 23rd, 2008, 01:11 AM
NOT USING A CRACK i just bought the game i am do not crack

SBFC
February 23rd, 2008, 01:13 AM
I wasn't implying that you didn't purchase the game. But, if you want to play it, you'll use a NoCD crack.

I own Warcraft III: The Frozen Throne and I use a NoCD crack so I can play it.

Wine has trouble with CD loaders/checkers.

fedex1993
February 23rd, 2008, 01:18 AM
dang is the no CD crack illagal like a crack or is it safe to use

SBFC
February 23rd, 2008, 01:32 AM
You're bypassing a security measure, and there's always a chance it could have malicious intent.

It's a bummer, I know. It's too bad wine has issues with loaders, but really, the cracks have to be used to play some of these games. I guess you could think of them as game 'fixes' if you'd like. ;) I get mine from www.megagames.com.

Game Fixes > PC Games

fedex1993
February 23rd, 2008, 01:39 AM
ahh okay hmm that sucks i expeced it to be free oh well is cedga free thoe? or how much does it cost?

SBFC
February 24th, 2008, 07:10 AM
Cedega is a monthly fee, although I'm not certain of how much. I think it was something like $5/mo, not sure though.


i expeced it to be free

I'm not sure what you mean by that. The NoCD fixes are free, if that is what you were referring to.