PDA

View Full Version : System calls by C program

pt_lam
February 20th, 2008, 09:23 AM
Just got a school assignment. I have to write a C program to perform 2 system calls.
1. get the date and time
2. send the date and time data to printer and print it

I have no experience on Unix/Linux programming. Can anyone help?

Thanks!

ruy_lopez
February 20th, 2008, 09:47 AM
To get the date and time, you type 'date' at the command line. You'll have to work out the rest.

lnostdal
February 20th, 2008, 10:06 AM
man 2 time
man 3 ctime

..and you can use fopen etc. on /dev/lp*

ruy_lopez
February 20th, 2008, 12:08 PM
man 2 time
man 3 ctime

I was going to suggest time & ctime. But then I thought, "only 2 syscalls". Also, I don't think a high-school would expect you to use pointers.

I may be wrong. But I was thinking along the lines of 'system()'. Are you sure the school want a C program?

pt_lam
February 20th, 2008, 03:14 PM
I was going to suggest time & ctime. But then I thought, "only 2 syscalls". Also, I don't think a high-school would expect you to use pointers.

I may be wrong. But I was thinking along the lines of 'system()'. Are you sure the school want a C program?

Yes, a C program is needed in the assignment.
So can you tell more in details how to do the things using C?
Thanks!

lnostdal
February 20th, 2008, 03:18 PM
well, how far have you got now? -- or where are you stuck now?

ruy_lopez
February 20th, 2008, 03:29 PM
Did they teach you C? Or did your lecturer just, out of the blue, tell you to write a C program?

pt_lam
February 20th, 2008, 03:40 PM
Did they teach you C? Or did your lecturer just, out of the blue, tell you to write a C program?

I'm sorry that I just don't know how to begin

ruy_lopez
February 20th, 2008, 03:50 PM
This will give you the basics:

http://www.physics.drexel.edu/courses/Comp_Phys/General/C_basics/

You should probably install this:

sudo apt-get install build-essential

To get the manpages for C functions: