PDA

View Full Version : Does anyone here have any game design experience?

some_random_noob
February 20th, 2008, 02:29 AM
Game design is awesome! But to be honest I have limited experience with it.

Anyone else?

k2t0f12d
February 20th, 2008, 02:41 AM
Kia ora

I took some classes on the subject once. I was mistaken to believe that pursuing game programming and design would expose me to more then a pure computer science degree would. What about game design do you wish to discuss?

init1
February 20th, 2008, 03:24 AM

Anyone else?
I taught myself JavaScript and made a number of simple games with that. That's about it though.

DUDE_2000
February 20th, 2008, 03:26 AM
only for pen and paper, but i would love to learn

Vitamin-Carrot
February 20th, 2008, 03:58 AM
Kia ora

I took some classes on the subject once. I was mistaken to believe that pursuing game programming and design would expose me to more then a pure computer science degree would. What about game design do you wish to discuss?

Kia ora cuzzz

WalmartSniperLX
February 20th, 2008, 06:28 AM
The closest I've gotten was a little bit of python/pygame coding and some screwing around in the blender game engine. www.blender.org

some_random_noob
February 20th, 2008, 09:53 AM
Damn. I was hoping there'd be more people :( It's a shame that most programmers are boring. Game design is awesome - and more game devs=more fun with Ubuntu. More people here should learn programming (With Python & Pygame - because it's great for beginner/intermediate folks :) ).

I haven't done programming for ages, but I did some basic Pygame work recently (Mouse/keyboard input, images and alpha transparencies). Most of my project is pen & paper work though.

In the next 5 years I hope to have assembled an organized and motivated real-life team of programmers. I have a friend who started highschool this year, so I'm getting him to try and recruit anyone who has interest in computers.

penguinboy08
February 20th, 2008, 10:04 AM