PDA

View Full Version : From Bash to Ruby - Some questions

Yuzem
February 19th, 2008, 02:56 AM
I know a little bash and I like it. I even did a little app (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=486359) with it.
Now I want to make a program with gui using gtk.
The best option for me would be to use gtk from bash because bash is what I know, so I installed gtk-server (http://www.turtle.dds.nl/gtk-server/index.html) but for some reason it is very ugly. The widgets doesn't use the current theme.
Maybe I am doing something wrong...

Anyways, I am thinking of learning some ruby now and I have some questions, but first, be advice that I am not a programmer so I could be talking some nonsenses...

First a simple question:
How do I include another file in ruby?
In bash it is:

. /path/to/file
In bash that will import the file as if it were part of the script.

Second question
In ruby I can use bash commands like this:

var = `cat some_file`
That assigns the result to a variable named var.
How can I use that variable inside a bash command from ruby.
For example:

var = `echo $var | sed "s/something/something/"`
That doesn't work.

Pipes
How can I do pipes in ruby?

In bash:

echo $var | do-something | do-something-else

In ruby the following works in the same order as pipes in bash (from left to right):

var.do-something.do-something-else

The same in bash would be:

do-something-else $(do-something $var)

Maybe in python:

do-something-else(do-something($var))

ghostdog74
February 19th, 2008, 03:43 AM
The most logical thing to do, if you want to learn Ruby, or any other new languages you don't already know, is to at least read up some books or online guide about how to use and program in them, right?

Jessehk
February 19th, 2008, 05:20 AM
The first edition of the "Pickaxe" Book, widely considered the best reference/tutorial for Ruby is available free here (http://www.rubycentral.com/pickaxe/).
It is slightly out of date, but 95% of it should be relevent.