PDA

View Full Version : Poll: what constitutes a newbie

tuebinger
February 16th, 2008, 08:17 AM
How long before a newbie is no longer considered a newbie? 3 months? 6 months? 1 year? Or do you consider it more of an experience issue. If so, then what tasks would a user have to have under his/her belt to be counted as crossing over from newbie to experienced user? (For example, would a newbie be promoted to experienced user once they have: compiled a program, run a script, learned a programming language, set up a server, built their own computer from scratch?)

LaRoza
February 16th, 2008, 08:32 AM
When you can do everything you want to do you are no longer a newbie.

Presto123
February 16th, 2008, 08:33 AM
LOL...I'm a newbie, still. My coffee beans still haven't cured, so to speak.

jrharvey
February 16th, 2008, 08:36 AM
When you can do everything you want to do you are no longer a newbie.

In that case, the majority of us here are newbies. Theres always something new to stump someone.

paintba||er
February 16th, 2008, 08:38 AM
It's a matter of experience and ability, not time.

k2t0f12d
February 16th, 2008, 08:40 AM
The state of newbie is relative to the level of experience of the one whose world is being entered and the experience of the one who is entering.

EdThaSlayer
February 16th, 2008, 08:41 AM
I guess when you pass the 1,000 beans mark you have lost your newbie status. Or, being a member on this site for 1 year(hopefully, since that will make lose my newbie status).

hyperair
February 16th, 2008, 08:44 AM
Well considering everyone who has voted so far has voted for the last optionI think there really isn't a question here is there ;) Also, by EdThaSlayer's statement, I've lost my newbie status some time back =D 1000+ beans.

vishzilla
February 16th, 2008, 08:45 AM
You're no longer a newbie when you are aware how to go about!

SomeGuyDude
February 16th, 2008, 08:50 AM
Being a newbie isn't about time, per se, it's about knowledge.