PDA

View Full Version : Quotable quote on software usability philosophy...

Sporkman
February 15th, 2008, 05:02 PM
Humanized's eight philosophical precepts, which Vice-President Atul Varma wrote as a sort of manifesto, might seem like common sense to the average PC owner. The first rule, for example, is, "It's not your fault." In other words, if a user has trouble getting a program to perform an action, it's because software writers failed to anticipate users' thoughts and assumptions. But not all coders see things that way. "Programmers often think: 'This is how it works. If you're not good enough to understand that, go read the manual, don't bother me,'" Raskin says.

http://www.businessweek.com/bwdaily/dnflash/content/feb2008/db20080214_532057.htm?campaign_id=yhoo

Shippou
February 16th, 2008, 08:17 PM
Nice one... :)

Personally as a programmer myself, I think this quote is right. Anyway, that's what manpages are for... :)

To Users: Do you know that making manpages (or whatever you call it) is the most "irritating" part in a programmer's life? So read the manuals... :)

leftorvo
February 16th, 2008, 08:23 PM
To Users: Do you know that making manpages (or whatever you call it) is the most "irritating" part in a programmer's life? So read the manuals...

They're often extremely complicated. but others, like mplayers, are really good.

Shippou
February 16th, 2008, 08:23 PM
Nice one... :)

Personally as a programmer myself, I think this quote is right. Anyway, that's what manpages are for... :)

To Users: Do you know that making manpages (or whatever you call it) is the most "irritating" part in a programmer's life? So read the manuals... :)

Shippou
February 16th, 2008, 08:26 PM
sorry double post.... I have some problems with my net connection... :) by the way, what is the counterpart of winamp in linux? I've been trying to play .nsv files... there is video but no audio... :(

amingv
February 16th, 2008, 08:27 PM