PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] strings and ints in files

Zeotronic
February 14th, 2008, 09:02 PM
I need to figure out how to load chars from a file as ints, I also need to figure out how to load strings (spaces and all) from files, but am not sure the best way to do this. The ints, I'm sure, would be simple enough, but I need to be able to load strings that would be able to describe a file directory.
In reality, I actually need to know how to load short ints and long ints, but I figured int would be clearer.
The strings in question are not in any perticular format yet because I don't know the best format for them to be in.
Oh... I'm a C++ coder in case you didn't gather it from above.

lisati
February 14th, 2008, 09:52 PM
Correct me if I'm wrong, but a char is 8 bits, and a int is 3 chars... I need to figure out how to load chars from a file as ints, I also need to figure out how to load strings (spaces and all) from files, but am not sure the best way to do this. The ints, I'm sure, would be simple enough, but I need to be able to load strings that would be able to describe a file directory.
In reality, I actually need to know how to load short ints and long ints, but I figured int would be clearer.
The strings in question are not in any perticular format yet because I don't know the best format for them to be in.
Oh... I'm a C++ coder in case you didn't gather it from above.

It may be necessary to open the file in binary mode and use something equivalent to C's getch() function.....

Depending on what you're doing, it may also be useful to think in terms of unsigned bytes rather than chars or ints.

aks44
February 14th, 2008, 10:54 PM
int is 3 chars...

What does this code output? ;)

#include <iostream>
int main()
{
std::cout << sizeof(int) << std::endl;
return 0;
}

Zeotronic
February 15th, 2008, 12:29 AM