PDA

View Full Version : Breaking into IT industry, from another disipline?

hardyn
February 14th, 2008, 08:46 AM
Question for the IT pros out there,

What channels would somebody have to go though to convince an HR manager that a person coming from a technical background, however not specifically IT, that they are worth an interview and not blown off immediately as not qualified?

my background is in mechatronic engineering, mechanical engineering with a bunch of elective courses in electronics and software engineering. I have decided that mechanical scene is no longer for me and I have been trying to break into IT industry; however, its not going that well.

I have been applying for entry level help desk positions, and have been stressing in my CV and covering letter direct experiences performing IT duties in previous positions and my self-taught skills, though my personal projects. I know i can excel at an entry level position, but how do i prove it somebody else? I am considering grad studies in IT or computing engineering, however, it will take some time before i can afford such studies, and of course there is the time in class.

anybody have any ideas? about what they are specifically looking for, maybe i am wording my CV and covering letters incorrectly for the It industry?

Thanks.

kathryn
February 14th, 2008, 09:00 AM
Hi Hardyn,

I'm not an IT pro (actually a graduate student in neuroscience) but I might have one useful piece of advice for you.

I have been pondering my career options, and considered a shift into programming. I wasn't sure of what I might need (in terms of courses) to show potential employers that I was worth considering. The most useful advice I received was from employers with job ads on websites and in the newspaper. I simply emailed them and asked what would be required.

Perhaps you should do the same - then you'd hear directly from them what you need to be competitive with other applicants.