PDA

View Full Version : Need some C++ help

skipsbro
February 14th, 2008, 03:27 AM
Hello all! I'm just getting into C++ programming and I need a bit of help with one of my first scripts

#include<stdio.h>

int main()
{
int f;
f = 440;

int p;
p = 69 + 12* LOG(f/440:2);

if (p == 69)
{
printf("The frequency is A440\n");
}
if (p > 69)
{
printf("The frequency is higher than A4\n");
}
if (p < 69)
{
printf("The frequency is lower than A4\n");
}
}

That's what I have so far, and the problem is with the formula above that P is set to. I would also like to know how to get F to be asked where it can be changed each time the program is used. Thanks in advance!

t3hi3x
February 14th, 2008, 03:32 AM
well...a couple things

To use LOG() you need to include math.h

To pull a number in you can use std::cin >> f;
but you need to include iostream.

I'm sure this can be done with just c, but I don't know C all that well :)

if this doesnt compile, then let me know

so...

#include<stdio.h>
#include<math.h>
#include<iostream>

int main()
{
int f;
//f = 440;

//get f

printf("What is f?\n");

std::cin >> f;

int p;
p = 69 + 12* LOG(f/440:2);

if (p == 69)
{
}
if (p > 69)
{
}
if (p < 69)
{
}
}

LittleLORDevil
February 14th, 2008, 03:48 AM
Just a style thing but "else if" statements are a little better style.

PaulFr
February 14th, 2008, 07:19 AM
I think

1. LOG should be log.
p = 69 + 12 * log(f/440:2);does not look right. What is 440:2 ?

vishzilla
February 14th, 2008, 07:38 AM
the program doesnt make sense, the program will return an integer, you have to include 'return 0;' and what is 440:2

pedro_orange
February 14th, 2008, 09:07 AM
I concur.

You're missing the application return code, return 0;
Because you've set this application as int main() you must return an integer. 0 is telling the OS your application completed successfully.

Is 420:2 some kind of ratio? :P Perhaps it's just a typo.
That will surely return an error.

if(condition){
}
else if(condition){
}
else{
}