PDA

View Full Version : A Mac Ad You'll Never See

Sporkman
February 11th, 2008, 07:15 PM
Cute. Philisophical point made at the end.

http://online.wsj.com/article/SB120172199374929447.html?mod=yahoo_hs&ru=yahoo

A Mac Ad You'll Never See

How a Columnist's Transition to Apple
Hit a Snag Almost Before It Got Started

February 4, 2008

OPEN on a stark white background, with tinkly music in the background. On the left stands a stuffy-looking man in khakis, jacket and tie, wearing glasses. On the right, a laid-back guy in casual clothes. In the center, a bald, nondescript middle-aged guy.

Laid-Back Guy (morosely): Hi, I'm a Mac.

Stuffy-Looking Guy (smugly): And I'm a PC.

Nondescript Guy: And I'm a tech columnist.

Mac: I don't know what to say. This almost never happens.

PC (gleefully): What happened, Mac?

Mac: Well --

Columnist: What happened is, you broke. Three and a half weeks after I got you, I came home and your screen was dark and you wouldn't switch on. Thank goodness I'd just put PC aside, instead of putting him on the curb like I'd planned.

PC: Came crawling back, did you? So I guess that bright and shiny Mac world wasn't quite as wonderful as you thought it would be.

Columnist: No, actually it was pretty nice.

(PC looks at the camera, nonplussed.)

Columnist: After 25 years using PCs, I bought a 24-inch iMac in December. And I was impressed before I even plugged it in -- it came in one slim box, instead of a stack of them. I had it up and running in about three minutes, and was on my wireless network a minute after that.

PC: Why don't we skip ahead to the part where Mac breaks?

Mac (patiently): PC….

Columnist: And it was great clearing out all those wires and cords. I don't think I'd seen the floor under my desk in two years with all the mess down there.

PC: But surely it must have been strange, adapting to all the peculiar ways those people work.

Mac: PC….