PDA

View Full Version : getting a C++ IDE to work (any is fine)

sujinge9
February 10th, 2008, 02:07 AM
Hi, I'm relatively new to linux and only starting to learn C++. After switching to Ubuntu, I thought it would be easier to program but I discovered it was not so. Back on windows I used Dev C++ and doing Hello world was as easy as typing in the code and hitting compile. But as I tried various IDEs, such as anjuta and geany, I have not been able to complile a single program. Would someone please help me get any IDE to work on a almost fresh install? Thanks.

mike_g
February 10th, 2008, 02:14 AM
Well you can edit your code in any text editor then compile from the command line.

Just type:

g++ -Wall filename
As long as g++ dosent moan too much you will be left with an executable called a.out. You can run it like so:

./a.out
I'm sure theres probably a FAQ about it here somewhere that explains this stuff better, but with that you should be able to compile and run simple progs.

sujinge9
February 10th, 2008, 02:16 AM
Yeah, g++ is great and everything, but I would prefer an IDE that can do it all because it is so much simpler like that. So please, can someone help me to get an IDE to work?

chris200x9
February 10th, 2008, 02:17 AM
geany :)

sujinge9
February 10th, 2008, 02:18 AM
I have tried geany and I have it installed, yet I am unable to compile anything. Will you please show me how to get it to work?

chris200x9
February 10th, 2008, 02:23 AM
do you keep getting compile errors? if so prolly do a sudo apt-get install build-essential or you can do it via synaptic :)

LaRoza
February 10th, 2008, 02:23 AM
Look in the stickies, there are threads on C++ and IDE's.

shaggy999
February 10th, 2008, 02:24 AM