PDA

View Full Version : I need help with a simple "copy" script

Sciamano
February 9th, 2008, 05:58 PM
Hi all,
I'm no programmer at all, and even though I tried using bash commands, I can't seem to find the right ones.

Basically I need to "scan" a folder and all its subfolders, and make copies (which must be called cover.jpg) of all the files called "Album Art.jpg"
I can't simply rename them (that would be easy with KRename), I have to make copies of them.

How do I do that? Any help appreciated!

Thanks,
Luca

ghostdog74
February 9th, 2008, 06:34 PM
find /path -name "cover.jpg" -exec cp "{}" "Album art.jpg" \;

Sciamano
February 9th, 2008, 06:40 PM
Thanks ghostdog, just two questions: can I run this from the command line?

Also, shouldn't "cover.jpg" and "Album Art.jpg" be switched in their position?
I have to copy "Album Art.jpg" to a new file called "cover.jpg".

Thanks

ghostdog74
February 9th, 2008, 06:55 PM
Thanks ghostdog, just two questions: can I run this from the command line?

Instead of giving you the answer, i would like you to try it and enjoy the process

Also, shouldn't "cover.jpg" and "Album Art.jpg" be switched in their position?
I have to copy "Album Art.jpg" to a new file called "cover.jpg".
Thanks
likewise. you can rearrange the order and find out. Its more fun this way than telling you the answer :)

Sciamano
February 9th, 2008, 08:02 PM
I just don't want to mess anything up, that's all...

Sciamano
February 10th, 2008, 01:18 PM
Well, I tried both, and it did not work at all.
None produced any files...

Sciamano
February 11th, 2008, 12:02 PM
up! :)
Please help me! :-P

ghostdog74
February 11th, 2008, 12:24 PM
ever wondered how people's going to help you without more info like how you execute the commands , error messages etc besides just "not working at all" ?

NovaAesa
February 11th, 2008, 12:57 PM
Methinks maybe you need to replace 'path' in the command with the actual path that you are wanting.