PDA

View Full Version : Student with a question about vb.net

doctorbighands
January 31st, 2008, 09:57 AM
I've posted the following in its entirety on the Absolute Beginner forums. At the suggestion of a user there, I am reposting here in the hope that someone can help clear things up for me.

The original post:

----------------------

Hey all,

I'm looking to take some CIS classes. Just to be sure, I sent an email to the department at the college to ask if I could make it with just a Linux OS installed on my machine. Here is the relevant portion of the response I received:

"If he installs or has installed a Microsoft operating system on his Linux machine and then buys Microsoft Office for $60 (deal is only good for students) and installs that, he could then dual-boot and go through the program without a problem.

With just Linux he could take the UNIX classes and maybe some others, but he definitely couldn't take VB.Net classes. He might be able to take C++ and Java classes. He couldn't take my version of [a particular class] because it requires having VBA."

I don't know specifically what he's talking about, but I want so badly for him to be wrong! Do I really have to buy a copy of MS Office?! Being the ignoramus that I am, I installed Mono and MonoDevelop on my system. Will that give me what I need?

What I want, ultimately, is to be able to succeed in these classes entirely outside of a Windows environment; also, I want to be able to tell this prof exactly how I intend to do that. That's where I need your help: Someone please tell me I can make this happen without M$!

Thank you!

EDIT: Just for the record, I know I'm covered in almost all languages if I use any of the multitude of IDEs out there (personally, I like Geany). I'm really concerned about this .NET stuff (VB.NET, VBA, etc) - something with which I'm entirely unfamiliar.

d0nny2600
January 31st, 2008, 11:04 AM