PDA

View Full Version : Steve Ballmer's learned a lot from Linux

aysiu
September 22nd, 2005, 06:15 AM
My parents recently bought me a subscription to Newsweek, and the latest issue had an interview with Steve Ballmer, in which he says, "I've learned more from studying open source and Linux—how to involve your customers much more deeply in the development and feedback process." So when is Microsoft going to make its products open source?

karuptdata
September 22nd, 2005, 06:22 AM
When hell freezez over and Tux goes ice skating....LOL :grin:

ltmon
September 22nd, 2005, 06:34 AM
My parents recently bought me a subscription to Newsweek, and the latest issue had an interview with Steve Ballmer, in which he says, "I've learned more from studying open source and Linux—how to involve your customers much more deeply in the development and feedback process." So when is Microsoft going to make its products open source?

I can actually see the results of tihs in my current job. I'm a contractor, and have started using a relatively new MS product called BizTalk (an EAI app built on .Net). The app is OK... not fantastic, but quite good. What has surprised me most is how much access to the developers you can get. They answer questions on newsgroups, blog regularly, release little convenience tools of their own and will often answer direct support questions via email. They are fairly forthcoming about the internals of the app and what exactly is going on behind the scenes.

I wonder if this is what he is talking about, or maybe it's just a single business unit doing their own thing outside of central control. Possibly because this is an area they actually have to compete in (rather than have a monopoly lock-in) they are trying extra hard to be more open.

It's not OSS by a stretch, but I can see where they've learnt from the process.

L.

Mishura
September 22nd, 2005, 07:01 AM