PDA

View Full Version : Linux Viral

linbetwin
September 21st, 2005, 03:12 PM
Here's a story from Slashdot (http://linux.slashdot.org/article.pl?sid=05/09/21/1252213&from=rss):

"Korean distributions of Mozilla and Thunderbird for Linux were infected with Virus.Linux.RST.b. This virus searches for executable ELF files in the current and /bin directories and infects them. It also contains a backdoor, which downloads scripts from another site, and executes them, using a standard shell."
I'm no expert on security, especially on Linux. Can anyone explain if this is a real risk? What should Ubuntu users do to stay safe?

newbie2
September 21st, 2005, 03:24 PM
Linux users warned over Firefox flaw
"Firefox users at risk are advised to upgrade to version 1.0.7 to guard against attack."
http://www.theregister.co.uk/2005/09/21/linux_firefox_security_bug/

linbetwin
September 21st, 2005, 04:10 PM
Here's a link to the Symantec website (http://securityresponse.symantec.com/avcenter/venc/data/linux.rst.b.html) with information about the virus Linux.RST.B. Not very helpful information though.

kblood
September 21st, 2005, 04:14 PM
Hey there,

This worries me a bit. I have until now lived under the belief that you only need an antivirus in Linux if you are going to be serving files to Windows machines, that is, so that Windows machines don't get infected.

Do we now need to start running antivirus programs as well in our stand-alone Linux machines?

Somebody shed some light, please... :-?

(I ask out of actual curiosity, don't want to screw up or spread FUD)

KingBahamut
September 21st, 2005, 04:16 PM
Korean distributions of Mozilla and Thunderbird for Linux were infected with Virus.Linux.RST.b. This virus searches for executable ELF files in the current and /bin directories and infects them. It also contains a backdoor, which downloads scripts from another site, and executes them, using a standard shell.

External Links
http://www.viruslist.com/en/weblog?calendar=2005-09