PDA

View Full Version : SSH emacs

spetsacdc
January 25th, 2008, 11:51 PM
I use ssh username@thecomputersaddress.edu to connect to these server computers at my school. I have a .cpp file on that computer that I want to edit from my home laptop.

So I do: emacs hello_world.cpp

The problem is that it turns the terminal into like a "terminal version of emacs". The mouse doesn't work and it is all black and white. On my pc I can type emacs22-gtx and it opens a nice version of emacs.

How do I edit the remote files in emacs22-gtx?

At school my professor has a mac and when he is showing us how to program he has a colored emacs.

Thanks

LaRoza
January 25th, 2008, 11:55 PM
I have no experience with Emacs.

I do not know if you can run gui apps over SSH. You can use SFTP instead.

spetsacdc
January 25th, 2008, 11:57 PM
Hmm that gives me:

ssh: xxxx.xxx.edu: Name or service not known

Is there a difference between ssh and shh. I have both in my notes, but I figured I wrote it down wrong once.

LaRoza
January 26th, 2008, 12:01 AM
Hmm that gives me:

ssh: xxxx.xxx.edu: Name or service not known

Is there a difference between ssh and shh. I have both in my notes, but I figured I wrote it down wrong once.

I don't understand what happened. What is shh?

SFTP http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SSH_file_transfer_protocol

Use FileZilla or maybe gFTP.

spetsacdc
January 26th, 2008, 12:06 AM
I don't think shh is anything...I just copied ssh in class incorrectly.

Also, I made an error logging in with sftp...now it works.

But, for some reason I can't get either emacs to run, or run my compiled programs. Are the commands different than when using ssh?

I tried:

sftp> emacs22-gtx project_1.cpp
Invalid command.

sftp> emacs
Invalid command.

sftp> emacs project_1.cpp
Invalid command.

sftp> emacs ./project_1.cpp
Invalid command.

sftp> ls
project_1 project_1.cpp project_1.cpp~

sftp> project_1
Invalid command.

sftp> ./project_1
Invalid command.

wolfbone
January 26th, 2008, 12:08 AM