PDA

View Full Version : Good vs bad or uninformed advice

Phrazzled
January 25th, 2008, 05:52 AM
What criteria do you adopt before following advice from this forum?

I've found much that was useful and informative here, but also a lot of misinformation. As an Ubuntu beginner I find it difficult to differentiate between accurate, authoritative advice and the, perhaps well meaning but, wrong information that is so often posted.

How do you decide when advice is worth following?

Do you keep a list of infallible gurus?

Do you count the beans?

What other sieves have you developed that catch 'info gold' and reject dross?

mdpalow
January 25th, 2008, 05:55 AM
I'm sure you'll figure it out :)

sloggerkhan
January 25th, 2008, 05:57 AM
Intuition? I guess I've never run into completely off base advice that I've wound up following.

jrusso2
January 25th, 2008, 05:58 AM
I don't usually ask for advice in here I usually search for it. When that fails I ask and if it makes sense I try it.

Incense
January 25th, 2008, 06:00 AM
The community is good enough, where bad or uninformed advise is corrected fairly quickly. We just keep each other in check.

y-lee
January 25th, 2008, 06:04 AM
I research the advice try to figure out the commands they use. Also informed user tend to sound informed. When I post advice when I am making an educated guess I state that it is just a guess, maybe i googled it and found it on another site and if so i will provide a link to the site.:)

RomeReactor
January 25th, 2008, 06:15 AM
Hi. I think you'll find that searching the forums often yields threads where your particular problem is being discussed, and even solved. If your problem doesn't show up on a search, then posting a thread usually results in many people posting advice/solutions, and as Incense says, if some advice is incorrect, others are sure to correct it.

Beans are nothing more than a post count, not how accurate the poster's advice is.

Phrazzled
January 25th, 2008, 06:30 AM