PDA

View Full Version : Does anyone use Dvorak?

Pandemic187
January 24th, 2008, 09:53 PM
I'm just wondering if I'm the only one who uses this keymap. There are a few other threads on here about it, but they are pretty old. I still use Qwerty; I dual-boot my laptop so that Windows uses Qwerty and Ubuntu uses Dvorak, mainly because some people have given me crap for using Dvorak. I must say though, it's really superior to Qwerty. Even if you don't see a noticeable gain in speed, using it just feels better. I suppose that if you are a busy person that would not be a good reason to switch; you would need to see a speed increase. But I was a high school student home on summer vacation when I learned it, and I must say I love it! So I'm just wondering if anyone else uses it as well.

Nevon
January 24th, 2008, 09:57 PM
I am a very bored/boring person at times, so of course I've thought about learning it. The problem is that I'm also a very lazy person, and learning a whole new keymap without being able to look at the keyboard for reference is just too damn hard.

Pandemic187
January 24th, 2008, 10:02 PM
When I learned it, I actually used a desktop keyboard and rearranged all the keys on the keyboard to match the Dvorak layout. Some people have used on-screen keyboards, but that seems cumbersome to me. Either way, it's great once you learn it!

Also, I'm keymap bilingual now, so I have no problem switching between keymaps.

billgoldberg
January 24th, 2008, 10:03 PM
What is dvorak?

I use azerty, qwerty just doesn't feel right, mainly because it wouldn't match my keyboard buttons.

fedex1993
January 24th, 2008, 10:05 PM
Who doesnt use qwerty keyboard. I KNOW I DONT dvorak i love very much i just orderd a new type matrix keyboard in dvorak and i herd that typematrix swas good. My old model m dvorak board is what i call it failed on me :(. But yes i am starting to recomend a dvorak layout if you are a programer and also a normal typer.

Pandemic187