PDA

View Full Version : A simple medical question

xyz
January 23rd, 2008, 01:04 PM
Hi everyone,

I have to go to the doctor's for various tests and she asked me to come in on an empty stomach.

I know I can't eat but does "on an empty stomach" also mean I can't drink anything at all?

Samhain13
January 23rd, 2008, 01:11 PM
Probably. I think the reason for that is to minimise the amount of possible contaminants in your body that can affect the tests. And water can carry potential contaminants.

But I'm not a doctor. :)

jeffus_il
January 23rd, 2008, 01:12 PM
What Ubuntu normally recommends is to call the doctor first. From my meagre medical knowledge, I know that some tests require a fast and some do not, I think most have no problem with drinking water. You could get the names of the specific tests from your referral and search in Google, there are Health services in Britain and the US which do give info on tests.

Dr. Jeff (So my mother wished)

barbedsaber
January 23rd, 2008, 01:23 PM
I would say nothing exept water on the day of the test, have the cleanest water you can, and just to be on the safe side, probobly no water for 2-3 hours befor test, but really, I wouldnt know.

Kingfield
January 23rd, 2008, 01:30 PM
I had a test. For stomach, but for that I couldnt drink water either. If its for something else youshould be able to drink

balaknair
January 23rd, 2008, 01:47 PM
Basically "On an empty stomach" translates on doctor's order sheets as "nil orally"
If you're visiting an anaesthetist(or if the tests require general anaesthesia) that means absolutely nothing to be eaten/drunk. Same if you're due for endoscopy(or even some X-rays). Or any procedure which might cause some nausea. Most of these procedures usually require a clean Gastrointestinal tract.