PDA

View Full Version : Sad Conclusion

irish rebel
January 23rd, 2008, 01:12 AM
Guys I have been using linux for the past 10 years and every year I think maybe this year.Recently I was involved in a business partnership that would have produced a line of desktops and laptops as well as a tv dvr type of device many approaches were made to various distros and commercial linux companies. alas all to no avail.
See a company like apple produces a unix based os and sexy gadgets
they brand it as cool people buy it.Microsoft produce crap and it sells , LInux is free and it is next to impossable to get out of that 2-3% niche.
Apple have a apple tv box what do we have myth tv configure it at your own risk.I have built one it runs .....sometimes, .My pan was to have a computer manufacturer produce a line of desktops , laptops and tv boxes what I wanted from a distro was to work on the software end , get a really good mplayer gui , get a really good photo app digikam I think and I have tried them all is the one photo app that actually has the potential to really make the cut .
Get a distro to configure myth tv to easy specs to great hardware the best we had was a small distro which configured myth but again it bogged down while streaming.
Linux and the opensource /free software movement are great but without a major company stepping up to the plate ...Like novell/redhat/Ibm we are doomed to our wee niche.
On a sidenote I bought a imac yesterday as well as a apple tv they work great plug and play

Drakx
January 23rd, 2008, 01:21 AM
On a sidenote I bought a imac yesterday as well as a apple tv they work great plug and play

ROLF I just love that, and its great how they just work with plug and play ;)

aysiu
January 23rd, 2008, 01:25 AM
I thought TiVo used Linux:
http://dynamic.tivo.com/linux/linux.asp

irish rebel
January 23rd, 2008, 01:33 AM