PDA

View Full Version : Some PHP Help

dk_pa
September 20th, 2005, 03:50 PM
I am pretty new to PHP and am just trying to write a small bit of code that will check for a files exsistence, then if not found create a new folder and write the file in it. The script will write the folder but doesn't write the file then. Do these operations just have to be more broken up? :?

<?php

$user_name = $_POST['user_name'];
$user_email = $_POST['user_email'];
$notes = $_POST['notes'];
$workout_day = $_POST['workout_day'];
$feel = $_POST['feel'];

$filename = "work_outs/$user_name/$user_name.xls";
$file = fopen( $filename, "a+");
$info = "<tr><td>$user_name</td><td>$user_email</td><td>$workout_day</td><td>$feel</td></tr>";

if (file_exists($filename)) {
fwrite( $file, $info);
fclose( $file );
} else { mkdir("work_outs/$user_name");
fwrite( $file, $info);
fclose( $file );
}
?>

thumper
September 20th, 2005, 04:14 PM
Now I don't know PHP but your logic seems a little flawed.

If the fopen fails (which it would if there was not a directory there), then you don't try to reopen the file once you have made the new directory.

Perhaps test for file exists before fopen?

Pseudo-code:

if not file_exists:
mkdir
open file
write data
close file

dk_pa
September 20th, 2005, 05:13 PM
Okie dokie. I'll try that out. I'm new to programming all together so thanx for helping the noobie =)

ryneezy
September 20th, 2005, 06:50 PM
Usually you can't write into a directory unless you have write permission. Try CHMOD 777 the directory before writing the file.

PHP has a CHMOD method so you can do it from the script.

LordHunter317
September 20th, 2005, 08:14 PM
Usually you can't write into a directory unless you have write permission. Try CHMOD 777 the directory before writing the file.No!. Never ever do this, even for testing.