PDA

View Full Version : Where did it install?

bag4705
January 19th, 2008, 05:41 PM
I'm relatively new to both the forums and Ubuntu so feel free to point me to a more appropriate location, but searches didn't seem to turn up anything. This seems to be a catch all.

I've been doing a lot of experimenting with various applications and that, of course, means a lot of install and removal of packages. I've recently found out that "purge" doesn't necessarily delete all files and directories so I'm ending up with junk I'll never use, but I don't recognize much of it.

Is there a command or application that will either record the location of new files and directories as they are created or some method of running a differential after the install so I can later verify total removal if I uninstall the package?

Appreciate any guidance you can provide.

GAB

urukrama
January 19th, 2008, 05:44 PM
Try "whereis application" in a terminal. It will tell you where the different files of the application are located.

FuturePilot
January 19th, 2008, 05:46 PM
You can open Synaptic and click the buton "Status". That will sort the packages by status. You can then see the different categories such as Autoremovable, Residual, etc. If you see any Residual packages you can mark them for Complete Removal which will remove everything included in that package.
You can also do the same from the command line if you know the name of the package.

sudo apt-get remove --purge <package-name>
will purge it from the system.

sudo apt-get autoremove
will remove un-needed dependencies but will not purge them.

bag4705
January 19th, 2008, 06:16 PM
That got me part way to where I want to go. I can now find the apps that don't show on a menu. :-) Thanks.