PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] PHP Frameworks

Circus-Killer
January 18th, 2008, 11:15 AM
I am a web developer, about to start two new projects. Currently, I am looking for a PHP-based framework to use in these projects.

While there are so many, and I know everyone has their own opinions, I would like to hear your opinion. I've been looking at CakePHP and it really looks like a strong possibility.

But before I make my decision, I would like to hear your thoughts. If you have used a particular framework that you enjoyed using, please let me know the name of the framework and what you liked or didn't like in the framework.

Please try maybe give reason for you liking it, and also specify how big the learning curve is. Thanks in advance. Looking forward to hearing your thoughts on the subject.

Sam
January 18th, 2008, 02:25 PM
You can try CodeIgniter (http://codeigniter.com/). I'm working on it now and it is very promising. Have a look on their user guide (http://codeigniter.com/user_guide/toc.html).

ThinkBuntu
January 18th, 2008, 08:01 PM
CakePHP is really nice, but I haven't done anything significant with it. Actually, except for minor features in clients' websites, I really haven't done anything significant with PHP, so take my advice with a rock of salt. In any case, as I've begun stepping into PHP development lately, I've read a ton of opinions about the top PHP frameworks, so hopefully my reading can save you some time. It seems to come down to Symfony and CakePHP for most, and it seems like both are more than capable of getting the job done. It seems that CodeIgniter is worse than Cake based on most reviews, and that Zend is really a half-baked (ha-ha...) framework. There are numerous smaller projects out there like QCodo that also have been acclaimed.