PDA

View Full Version : I'm a first time linux programmer and I need help getting an IDE/allegro

jkreef
January 18th, 2008, 05:50 AM
Does anyone know what a good c++ IDE is and how to get the allegro libraries working for it? I am working on a project in windows and I want to port it to linux, Thanks for any help you can offer.

LaRoza
January 18th, 2008, 07:38 AM
Does anyone know what a good c++ IDE is and how to get the allegro libraries working for it? I am working on a project in windows and I want to port it to linux, Thanks for any help you can offer.

http://www.talula.demon.co.uk/allegro/index.html

The IDE question can only be answered by yourself, if you are new to programming in Linux see the sticky for it.

EXCiD3
January 18th, 2008, 07:42 AM
Id recommend using Eclipse as a C++ IDE, however its all your personal preferences as LaRoze pointed out. I have used many Windows and Linux IDE's and have concluded the Eclipse is my favorite overall.

LaRoza
January 18th, 2008, 07:50 AM
Id recommend using Eclipse as a C++ IDE, however its all your personal preferences as LaRoze pointed out. I have used many Windows and Linux IDE's and have concluded the Eclipse is my favorite overall.

I haven't used any IDE's for any length of time, but I found Geany to be very nice. Not heavy, but with nice features. I only used it out of curiousity for a short while on Windows though.

jkreef
January 18th, 2008, 08:18 PM
Thanks for all the help! Eclipse is great but does anyone know how to get allegro working with it? I have read the readme that came with allegro and done some searching on the site but I cannot figure it out. Thanks!

vexorian
January 18th, 2008, 11:33 PM
I vote for geany.

You don't get libraries working with IDEs , that's the compiling process' job.