PDA

View Full Version : how many have warty still installed!!!!!

seiflotfy
September 19th, 2005, 01:43 PM
how many still use warty!! and y wont u upgrade to hoary or breezy

nimrod_abing
September 24th, 2005, 03:26 PM
I still run Warty. I did not upgrade to Hoary because it contained updated NVIDIA drivers that did not support my old graphics card RivaTNT2. Last version that is stable is NVIDIA drivers version 61.11 and it's what Warty has. Later versions of the driver caused my rig to become totally unstable. Plus there were no compelling new features (for my purposes at least) in Hoary. So I stayed with Warty.

Now I have a new NVIDIA graphics card and was planning on upgrading to Breezy, but I am having second thoughts. I work as a web developer and I have a lot of projects that require PHP4 for development and testing. Breezy seems to have PHP5 by default. I am doing some very funky stuff in my PHP4 scripts and I have doubts about them working without changes in PHP5. I am thinking of pinning PHP4 but then I am worried about breakage of other packages.

Upgrading from Warty to Breezy is going to be a nightmare for me even more so because I have several custom built packages and I would have to rebuild them all over again after the upgrade.

For me Warty to Breezy upgrade is definitely out of the question for now for the following reasons:

1. Again there are no compelling new features in Breezy.
2. Performance seems to be on-par with Warty based on the previews I have seen.
3. No real enhancements worth having (I don't need for the new Gnome features).
4. Some of the upgraded packages will break my current setup (e.g. PHP4)
5. Warty will still be supported up until the 6.04 version.