PDA

View Full Version : Ordering algorithm

Erdaron
January 16th, 2008, 08:01 AM
I'm working on a script to help me organize and analyze some data. Well, there's a lot of it. 185,000 lines in 5 columns. It's time-dependent, but the time scale is out of order, so I need to put it back into order.

I've actually already written a script to do this, but it's quite slow, and was wondering if there are faster algorithms out there. I'm kind of new to programming, don't know many tricks.

The problem is basically this. I have a long list of unordered numbers, and I need to put them in, say, ascending order.

Here's the algorithm I've come up with:

Name given list A.
Find smallest number in A, call it y.
Put y in a new list, called B.
Delete y from A.
Repeat.

To find the smallest number in A:
Let y = A(0)
If y > A(1), let y = A(1)
If y > A(2), let y = A(2)
Like that until A runs out.

I also came up with another, more convoluted algorithm (though it is as efficient):

Compare A(0) to A(1)
If A(0) > A(1), exchange them
Compare A(1) to A(2)
If A(1) > A(2), exchange them
Repeat, but this time only consider the first N - #iterations numbers (since the biggest number will be pushed to the end by the first iteration, and so forth).

Both cases require N*(N-1) / 2 compares.

Oh, and so far I've been working in Python. Would doing this in C++ speed this up any?

Erdaron
January 16th, 2008, 08:11 AM
I just calculated the number of comparisons required for my data - approximately 1.7E10.

I'm doomed.

RIchard James13
January 16th, 2008, 08:14 AM
What you seem to need is a good sorting algorithm. There are quite a few out there. You can see the common ones on the following page.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sorting_algorithm

I personally would try quicksort and move from python to c++.

I think your second example is bubble sort. Don't know what your first is maybe bucket?

Erdaron
January 16th, 2008, 08:55 AM
I think my first choice is a selection sort.