PDA

View Full Version : How many will stick with LTS releases without upgrading?

jsmidt
January 16th, 2008, 07:37 AM
Hardy, Ubuntu 8.04 LTS, will be stable Ubuntu release that will be supported for several years. It will be a very stable Ubuntu release and you can wait for the next LTS before you upgrade if you want. It will probably will supported by commercial entities as well.

With all that said, how many will stick with Hardy until the next LTS release in two years and how many will upgrade when Hardy+1 is released.

The real purpose of the thread is to give the community and especially the devs some idea of what to expect based off of some numbers. Thanks.

p_quarles
January 16th, 2008, 07:46 AM
Other. I'll always use a bleeding-edge release on my desktop and latop, but my server will run Debian Stable.

GopherGirl
January 16th, 2008, 08:20 AM
This is an important question that I hope gets feedback. I am new to Ubuntu and have a laptop I use for school. I was thinking of staying with the Long Term supported version since I thought being new I need something stable. However, would it be better for a new person to upgrade?

Does anyone know good pros and cons for upgrading or not if you have a laptop? I would like to hear what you guys have to say before I decide. :KS

FuturePilot
January 16th, 2008, 08:58 AM
As soon as Hardy +1 is out, I'm upgrading. IMO LTS on an average desktop doesn't make a whole lot of sense. I can definitely see the place for LTS on a server, but for your average Ubuntu user they will probably want the latest and the greatest. And with the speed that open source moves, LTS gets old pretty quick. I'm not saying there's anything wrong with LTS, it has it's place, but for desktop use cutting edge would seem to make more sense. There are exceptions though.
Just my $.02

OoooMatron
January 16th, 2008, 09:28 AM
Other. I'll always use a bleeding-edge release on my desktop and latop, but my server will run Debian Stable.

Hehe, I second that!