PDA

View Full Version : New to FOSS, why did Mark go with Linux over FreeBSD?

qombi
January 14th, 2008, 03:53 AM
I was just curious. I am new to the FOSS but I really love all of it so far. From what I have read Freebsd seems like it would have a better chance for desktop success. This is coming from somone with a fresh perspective on the free OSs.

Freebsd for one is the complete OS not distros which provides standards making it easier to produce software for. I think software developers can be weary of Linux with all the different distros out there that a potential customer could try to install their software on and it not work. I was curious if Mark Shuttleworth looked into investing into making FreeBSD the OS of choice or was it Linux all the way?

tgalati4
January 14th, 2008, 03:59 AM
Excellent question! Don't know the answer. Perhaps he just likes Debian. Not much clue from:

http://www.ubuntu.com/community/ubuntustory

If someone has Mark's email, perhaps you could ask him personally. He does have a blog, although I don't recall seeing a rationale on it either.

Sef
January 14th, 2008, 04:00 AM
FreeBSD is under the LGPL - Lesser General Public License. It's source code is freely available, but you do not have to share any changes you make, unlike GNU/Linux, which is under the GPL (General Public License.)

DouglasAWh
January 14th, 2008, 04:00 AM
I've been working in IT (albeit a ******* environment) for 5.5 years now and went to a magnet high school for science and mathematics and I don't know anyone that uses or has ever used FreeBSD. I mean, probably some of my friends have, but I don't know about it. Point being, if no one is using it, there's no base to build off.

qombi
January 14th, 2008, 04:03 AM
Okay thanks for the responses. I am still fuzzy on the different free licenses.

p_quarles
January 14th, 2008, 04:08 AM