PDA

View Full Version : Beware Pirates, New usb cables have DRM protection

hhhhhx
January 11th, 2008, 09:25 AM
http://www.theinquirer.net/gb/inquirer/news/2007/12/18/usb-cables-back-movie-industry?

so... how long do you think it will take to hack this one? :)

Amstell
January 11th, 2008, 09:35 AM
won't take long to hack but who the hell would buy something like that. I'm sure companies will have no problem keeping it simple and not implementing this. Stupid

winsall
January 11th, 2008, 09:38 AM
now, im by no means an expert, but if this thing picks up on pirated HD video (IE that hasnt been authorised by the media companies), then what happens if you have a HD video camera? will they just tell you that you cant use it? it seems a bit defective by design if you ask me - just like HDMI and DRM.

chewearn
January 11th, 2008, 09:50 AM
Whoo wee, where can I get one? I want one, now!

kvonb
January 11th, 2008, 09:59 AM
-

hhhhhx
January 11th, 2008, 10:01 AM
erm, don't know if you noticed or not, but the name of that site is "Enquirer"!

Isn't that a loonie paper in the US that has stories about "Aliens ate my baby" type things?

um...its inquirer not enquirer

Tundro Walker
January 12th, 2008, 10:44 AM
Who the hell would pay money for something that limits what they can do with it? Oh, wait...yeah, all those Vista folks...

Just slap "Vista Compatible!" on it, and watch it go like hot-cakes.

chris4585
January 12th, 2008, 11:03 AM
it said usb cables, what about usb flash drives?

steeleyuk
January 12th, 2008, 11:59 AM
erm, don't know if you noticed or not, but the name of that site is "Enquirer"!

Isn't that a loonie paper in the US that has stories about "Aliens ate my baby" type things?

"Inquirer" and its the tech-news equivalent... :)

SunnyRabbiera
January 12th, 2008, 12:21 PM
I am not sure how they would do this though, its rather difficult getting firmware onto a wire like that...