PDA

View Full Version : new to ubuntu.. tips?

pandox
January 7th, 2008, 06:49 AM
hi everyone!

im new to ubuntu and i was wondering if there were any tips you guys would like to give me..

thanks a lot!!!

allforcarrie
January 7th, 2008, 06:59 AM
dont drink downstream from the heard.

Mike'sHardLinux
January 7th, 2008, 07:12 AM
Depends. What do you like to do?

Games?
old school: emulators, or check the repos for remakes of classics
modern: FPS (Nexuiz, Tremulous, etc...), RPG

Development?
Python, C, C++, Java, PHP/MySQL, etc...

Graphic design?
GIMP, Inkscape, Scribus, Xara, Blender, ....

There's so much cool stuff you can do, and most of it is free/open source.

Are you new to Linux, too, or just to Ubuntu? I came from more of a Redhat/Fedora background, and it took me a little getting used to, but the changes were all positive for me - the differences were mostly just command line stuff, like getting used to "sudo" instead of "su - root".

ZapalacX
January 7th, 2008, 07:14 AM
Train your tongue : Think sweet and eat something bitter. Soon, bitter things will begin to taste sweet. You've succeeded when everything tastes sweet.

To be serious, try the beginners forum. Tons of hints for the new folk. Best o' luck t'ya. And don't ever be afraid to ask ANY of us for anything about your problems. You our BOY/GIRL!!!:guitar:

SomeGuyDude
January 7th, 2008, 08:48 AM
Don't be afraid of your terminal, and realize that despite using the command line you're not doing anything more "dangerous" than you would be via a GUI.

Martje_001
January 7th, 2008, 08:51 AM
Always keep in mind that it's NOT windows. :)

Theo Venter
January 7th, 2008, 09:06 AM
learn the basic commands first
then the more advanced ones:KS

pandox
January 7th, 2008, 09:08 AM
o thank u all!!

yes im new to linux in general. mike: im interested more in games (modern) so il check some of the stuff out.
and im actually learning to love terminal.

Jhongy
January 7th, 2008, 09:23 AM
o thank u all!!