PDA

View Full Version : gnu and creative commons in games

Nerdcore Steve
January 4th, 2008, 02:32 AM
I've sent the below email to gnu@gnu.org and haven't gotten a response yet. I was interested what anyone here on the ubuntu forums thought:

I'm not a professional developer but I've been messing around with a point and click javascript text adventure game. The game engine takes an xml file which is the games content. The xml file contains a description of the rooms you encounter and of the choices you can click on when you get in that room. I got to thinking that I'd like to release the javascript game engine on the gnu license. I know people would take the code anyway, but it would be mainly to encourage people to contribute improvements to it. I was also thinking I could put the xml game data out on the creative commons license. Then I wasn't sure if the gnu license would do essentially the same thing and maybe I was making things too complicated. Until I had a thought.

Wouldn't it be cool if there was a bunch of free game engine software that could be used in conjunction with copyrighted game content, which could include, art, animation, game scripts, scripts governing character behavior, music, etc., but used open source software? That way a bunch of people who didn't know much about programming but were good artists and writers, might make an RPG that they owned, that they could even sell if they wanted to. Or wouldn't be nice if I could take, say, the code from Freedroid, and put my own art, sound effects, and music in it, maybe make some changes to the software, which I would release under the terms of their open source license, but keep the game content as a creative commons non-commercial distribution license and sell it on a web site.