PDA

View Full Version : Testing page swapping algorithms

EricDallal
January 2nd, 2008, 11:12 PM
Hello,

I'm a graduate student currently looking at a number of possibilities for my project. One of the possibilities that my supervisor suggested was trying to test various algorithms for reducing page faults, or trying to apply a reinforcement learning approach to the problem. In order to do this, I assume I would need access to the operating system (I won' be doing this on my computer). I have taken a course in operating systems but I have never done anything like this. Does anybody know what would be involved in trying out different algorithms for reducing page faults?

A few more specific questions:

Is there a way to simulate an algorithm without actually entering an operating system? If so, is there some standard test suite that could be run as a test? I know that such things exist for branch predictors, since I've already done a project on those. Ignore the following questions if there is a way to simulate the effect of page swapping algorithms without going into the operating system.

Is there some file or set of files (I am looking for both source code and the location of the object code) containing the algorithm for page swapping? If so, does anyone know where it/they is/are?

Would it be possible to change this part of the operating system without having to recompile the whole system?

Thanks in advance for any answers to any of these questions.

Eric

CptPicard
January 3rd, 2008, 12:50 AM
My immediate concern about using reinforcement learning with page faults is the fact that the OS tries to layer stuff so that there is as little information about other layers as possible in each any given layer. As you know, swapping algorithms mostly just rely on the assumption that what hasn't been touched for a while is not going to be touched next.