PDA

View Full Version : hey all.

miscast
January 1st, 2008, 07:42 PM
hey,

I am a new member so just a clichéd hi thread. Just to make it more interesting here are a few facts about me:

+ I /don't/ hate windows!
+ I am a coder for an investment bank using .net
+ I want to get involved in open source development, thinking about joining the python project
+ I am interested in algorithms... sad!
+ I want to get to know linux well, I'm a beginner but learn fast.

Anyway... I am pretty much stunned by ubuntu (am using it on my laptop), I didn't think linux was this good these days.

:-)

Lorenzo

~LoKe
January 1st, 2008, 07:45 PM
Welcome!

LaRoza
January 1st, 2008, 07:47 PM
+ I want to get involved in open source development, thinking about joining the python project

Anyway... I am pretty much stunned by ubuntu (am using it on my laptop), I didn't think linux was this good these days.

Lorenzo

+ No body is perfect :)
+ Cool, see the programm and development forums. You might be able to spread coding knowledge/learn about Linux programming
+ Cool, Python requires heavy duty C knowledge. See the Programming Talk forum
+ I too, I started a thread on them, but it didn't go very far (it got fixated on my original example)
+ You'll learn fast :)

It is very good, in fact, I see people wanting XP, Mac OSX or Ubuntu on new computers.

miscast
January 1st, 2008, 07:53 PM
+ No body is perfect :)
+ Cool, see the programm and development forums. You might be able to spread coding knowledge/learn about Linux programming
+ Cool, Python requires heavy duty C knowledge. See the Programming Talk forum
+ I too, I started a thread on them, but it didn't go very far (it got fixated on my original example)
+ You'll learn fast :)

It is very good, in fact, I see people wanting XP, Mac OSX or Ubuntu on new computers.

I will certainly be paying a visit to the dev forums :-)