PDA

View Full Version : Unifying Linux - Relative Paths

Yfrwlf
December 28th, 2007, 06:49 AM
Keep in mind I'm a bit of a noob so please correct and teach me and others if there is less of an issue here than I think there is, or whatever. Input! Communicate! Voice your opinions!

Seems to me like something that could help developers and administrators and users (or quite simply, everyone) always know where to access libraries and such would be if everything had a relative name. I wanted to hear if anyone had any input about such an idea. :) I think this would go a long way in making the silly structural differences between, say, Red Hat and Debian distros, not matter. It'd even allow everything to eventually be all moved to the same place in the future because it simply wouldn't matter.

Sort of like ~ is universal for home, what if there was a special relative path term for say, all of this kind of library, or all libraries period, or how about init?

Example:

(lib)/
'/apache restart

These universal bash changes could be made with very little effort, and wouldn't this further help Linux to be *cross-distro*, pushing back fragmentation of a very nice operating system? I think it's as important enough for users and developers to keep things like this in mind as it is to keep licensing in mind. Freedom hinges on these kinds of decisions. Keeping some standard methods of communication around that aren't detrimental to anything and only promote universal learning and unification of Linux is not a bad thing.

I know that relative paths are used a lot already in scripts, config files, and programming, so it seems to me that to expand upon that to easily allow a new system that was totally distro-independent would be easy.