PDA

View Full Version : Pleased to meet you....

MACaddict
December 28th, 2007, 02:51 AM
Hello All,

I just thought I'd introduce myself. As indicated by my user name, I'm a dyed-in-the-wool Mac Addict.

Outside of a decade in the realm of the "OS-whose-name-I-dare-not-mention", I've largely used Macs at school and at work as a Web Designer/Developer.

A recent foray into managing a dedicated web server has convinced me hat I need to know more about Linux, so here I am....pleased to meet you all.

Does anyone out there have any recommendations for a web-development environment for the Linux Desktop?

MACaddict

-grubby
December 28th, 2007, 02:52 AM
hello. Sorry I don't anything about web development but hello again.

LaRoza
December 28th, 2007, 02:54 AM
Does anyone out there have any recommendations for a web-development environment for the Linux Desktop?

Hi.

Nice to see everything worked out (inside statement, you all won't understand :))

I am a web developer also.

I do not know what you use, but:

* GIMP: Graphics
* Kate: Editing
* Kwrite, Gedit, and Vim: Editing
* Opera, Firefox: Testing and browsing
* Web Developer Toolbar and Firebug extensions for Firefox

If you need a server locally:

sudo tasksel

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/ApacheMySQLPHP

MACaddict
December 28th, 2007, 03:04 AM
Hi.

Nice to see everything worked out (inside statement, you all won't understand :))

I am a web developer also.

I do not know what you use, but:

* GIMP: Graphics
* Kate: Editing
* Kwrite, Gedit, and Vim: Editing
* Opera, Firefox: Testing and browsing
* Web Developer Toolbar and Firebug extensions for Firefox

If you need a server locally:

sudo tasksel
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/ApacheMySQLPHP

Hi LaRoza,

Yeah, I was right it actually was the confirmation email....went right to Junk Mail. Avatar edit started working just fine once I confirmed my enrollment.