PDA

View Full Version : Thinking in Python

Auria
December 27th, 2007, 06:04 PM
Hello all,

I'm a C/C++/Java/D programmer (all C-like languages) and I'm now trying to write some python code. I jave no problem grasping the syntax or stuff like that, what causes be trouble is how to think in python. I often seem to come up with solutions that are made for C-like languages.

Let's say I have the following C code and I would like to write a python equivalent? Note that I already know a few ways of getting it to work, but I would like to know how a python person would do it as I don't want to do ugly stuff :D

enum FoodType
{
potatoe,
pizza,
hot_dog,
pasta,
chicken
}

FoodType myFavoriteFood;

void askForVaroriteFood()
{
// more code would go there
myFavoriteFood = pizza;
}

void cookFavoriteFood()
{
if(myFavoriteFood == pizza) printf("cooking pizza!\n");
if(myFavoriteFood == ... ) etc.
}

int main()
{
askForVaroriteFood();
cookFavoriteFood();
}

My current idea is to create a dictionnary for food types + a global variable. Then I would say "global myFavoriteFood" at the beginning of every function. Is that correct? Is there a better way to do it?

thanks

Martin Witte
December 27th, 2007, 06:40 PM
i would go for something where you avoid globals as much as possible, wheter it is in c++ or python, eg.

#!/usr/bin/env python
food_type = ('potatoe', 'pizza')

class NotSupportedFood(Exception):
def __init__(self, msg = ''):
self.msg = msg
def __str__(self):
return str(self.msg)

def ask_favorite_food():
fav_food = raw_input('enter your favorite food')
if fav_food not in food_type:
raise NotSupportedFood('food %s not valid' % fav_food)
return fav_food

def cook_favorite_food(food):
if food == 'potatoe':
print 'cooking potatoe'
elif food == 'pizza':
print 'cooking pizza'
else:
raise NotSupportedFood('can not cook %s' % food)

if __name__ == '__main__':
try:
food = ask_favorite_food()
cook_favorite_food(food)
except NotSupportedFood, e:
print str(e)

Majorix