PDA

View Full Version : Am Starting to think my ubuntu choice is amounting to self Deciet

bigbrovar
December 26th, 2007, 08:31 PM
I have been using ubuntu now for close to 5 months and i most say that its been quite a journey.. i found it so fascinating that i stopped using windows a month after installing feisty .. it wasnt all that easy but i coped and i was very happy and proud of my OS.. i didnt choose ubuntu because of Compiz or Beryl.. naa i wanted stability and a OS that was open source and free and the philosophy behind it was just too much to resist.

How ever my problem started when i Bought a new lappy cus i wanted my linux to be running on a sway manchine not my old gateway lappy so i got a sony vaio http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=632509
- since then i have not been able to get brightness control to work .. yeah i quite understand that sony sucks and there have locked the hardware .. and am also aware of the great effort the community is doing to use reverse engineering to fix the problem http://georgia.ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=465491 . so that didnt really bother me even though i get an 1 hour extra battery life on vista .. i still stock to ubuntu..

-then webcam didnt work http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=641586 and http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=289836&page=13 .. now this is a major problem.. dont stay with my mum and she likes to talk to me on yahoo thru webcam..so i have to boot vista anytime i need to talk to her on webcam.. still am not bothered i still stock to ubuntu