PDA

View Full Version : Convert Delphi source code to OS-neutral Free-pascal?

saphil
December 25th, 2007, 08:51 PM
So assume I am a beginner and do not really write pascal yet. I have an EXE that came with source code in .pas but which starts out with the windows library (that has the entire win32 api in it). I want to build the program in a platform-agnostic way and then maybe use the freePascal compiler to compile it for my Ubuntu and maybe fedora7.

I am not entirely sure how the program's windows gui would look, but if I have to, I will go over to a Windows machine to look at it.

I am mostly sure I have the whole pascal compiler on my machine. I installed the package that contains it and cpp and so on. I also installed Lazarus IDE for Pascal and something like 29 dependencies.

Would I be better off going into painting with oils, or actually taking a class in programming, or just going over to the win machine to use exe apps than attempting to adjust this source code?

CptPicard
December 25th, 2007, 10:55 PM
It's the Windows-specific GUI stuff that is going to be your worst sticking point, and there really is not much alternative to just rewriting from scratch against some crossplatform (or Linux-specific) GUI toolkit, which in turn will probably force you to switch languages, away from Delphi/Pascal.

If you really need to be using that application, you might try running it under Wine.

saphil
December 26th, 2007, 06:37 AM
so once again, taking the lazy way is more work. :-(
Thanks for the advice. I am probably going to have to actually learn how to code.

Wine almost never works how I want it to. I suspect it is the chair to keyboard interface being buggy..

LaRoza
December 26th, 2007, 04:02 PM
Wine almost never works how I want it to. I suspect it is the chair to keyboard interface being buggy..

:lol:

Don't blame yourself, Windows software can be difficult in Windows.

saphil
December 26th, 2007, 08:04 PM
Thanks for letting me off the hook, LaRoza