PDA

View Full Version : Microsoft OKs open-source license

rockin_goliath
December 22nd, 2007, 03:13 PM
I just stumbled on this article. I'm not a developer, so I don't know how much of a help it will be for the Hardy release, but it is nevertheless encouraging.

Microsoft OKs open-source license
Agrees TO SHARE DATA ON WINDOWS WITH GROUP

By Matthew Newman
Bloomberg News
Article Launched: 12/21/2007 01:40:38 AM PST

Microsoft, whose software powers about 95 percent of the world's personal computers, reached an agreement on licensing terms that will allow open-source products to connect to the Windows operating system.

Microsoft will license proprietary information on how Windows shares files and printers with the non-profit Protocol Freedom Information Foundation, which will make the data available to open-source developers working on a file and printing system called Samba.

The agreement will "allow Samba to create, use and distribute implementations of all the protocols" to allow so- called workgroup servers to connect with Windows, Redmond, Wash.-based Microsoft said in a statement Thursday.

The accord furthers Microsoft's bid to resolve legal disputes worldwide that have been weighing on its shares. The company in October gave in to European Union demands to license the protocol data.

In the past, Microsoft refused to license its technology to open-source software makers. Programs such as the free operating system Linux and the Samba system are distributed under terms requiring access to the source code, or underlying operating instructions.

Samba said in a statement that the agreement involves a one-time fee of 10,000 euros ($14,350). The protocol data will be held "in confidence" by Samba. The agreement allows source code to be published "without further restrictions," Samba said.

Under a 2004 EU decision, Microsoft had to disclose information to competitors and sell a version of Windows without a built-in video and audio player.

mellowd