PDA

View Full Version : Experienced MS-Windows users and attitudes

blastus
September 11th, 2005, 07:51 PM
I'm fairly new to Linux (just switched to it) and I love it a lot. However, I'm finding that experienced MS-Windows users are extremely intolerant of those that express their opinion about Linux or against MS-Windows no matter how respectfully they express those opinions. This is why I will never become a member of any forum ever again that is not Linux-orientated--because unless otherwise stated, they are all generally pro-Windows and are intolerant of those that do not love Microsoft and Microsoft products. I'm not talking about flaming Microsoft and thing like that, I'm talking about respectfully discussing something factual about MS-Windows or something in the news and having an opinion that is not pro-Microsoft or pro-MS-Windows or pro-MS-Office.

My thoughts are that experienced MS-Windows users are generally:

Intolerant: They do not respect people with opinions that differ from what they have and they just can't tolerate people who do not like Microsoft, MS-Windows, and MS-Office

Hyprocritical: They accuse those who dislike MS-Windows or Microsoft as religious fanatics yet they fail to realize that they are MS-Windows and Microsoft religious fanatics themselves

Ignorant: They are generally ignorant about the nature and purpose of Linux and open source software

What is everyone else's thoughts on this?

floppy
September 11th, 2005, 08:00 PM
Oh, come on now. You can't be serious. Of the literally millions upon millions of Windows users in the world, you want to characterize all of them by what die-hard fanatics on some forums think?

macgyver2
September 11th, 2005, 08:23 PM
Oh, come on now. You can't be serious. Of the literally millions upon millions of Windows users in the world, you want to characterize all of them by what die-hard fanatics on some forums think?