PDA

View Full Version : Grasping Ubuntu

Emerzen
December 20th, 2007, 08:00 PM
I had an experience over the last several days that I'd like to share with the rest of the community. I've been using Ubuntu for about 2 years now, and have maintained a dual-boot system with Windows XP Home the entire time. I noticed that Nero 8 had released an update, and it occurred to me that it had been a long time since I booted into Windows. I'm loathe to do this as I have SSH, Apache, and MediaTomb servers running in the background. Nevertheless, I decided it was time to do some maintenance on XP, etc.. When I switched over I became more curious? Could I do all of the things I do with Ubuntu on XP? First I updated Nero 8, a long process requireing 2 reboots. I fired up the media server on Nero, ran to my PS3, and checked to see if it was there. It was, I tried to play a file, and it played it back in fits and jerks even after much tweaking. I rebooted again, and poof Nero Media Server was gone from my PS3 and I've been unable to retrieve it. MediaTomb never had any of these complications. How about SSH? There are several implementations for Windows, Cygwin being the most notable. Couldn't get it working. Well, I use it mainly for remote access, so I thought I'd try a VPN solution, Hamachi. Installed, ran, went to my laptop (lan) perfect. Tried it at work (wan) the following day...no luck (well, 2kb/s proxied connection luck). Webserver on XP Home...no thanks. Finally, Nero 8 and my beloved Recode. I've been using HandBrake CLI in Ubuntu, and actually fire it up from a putty terminal at work quite frequently to get things moving. Nevertheless, I like recode so I tried to rip a dvd to mp4(h264/aac), which it did wonderfully but it took 9 hours. HandBrake does the same task in an hour and 15.