PDA

View Full Version : having a "crisis of faith"

jasonwatkins
December 18th, 2007, 08:55 PM
ok, 95% of the reason I made the switch full time to Linux was that I could get an Informix 4GL/SQL development environment up and running and develop code to keep my skillset up - i've been an informix programmer by trade for about 13 years, although i haven't worked for the last 8 years due to health reasons.

so it made sense to do this.

recently though, i've been looking at other career options and the need for an informix environment is becoming less and less by the week.

so invariably, that means my need for a linux operating system is also becoming less and less.

add to that the fact that most of the PC games i've got won't work under wine, and i'm currently wobbling.

i'm half heartedly putting together a folder of programs that i'd need to re-install windows - firewall e.t.c., but I'm sort of hoping I change my mind before committing to the re-format.

i like linux and i'm totally happy with it, but i don't know .. there's just a nagging thought that maybe it's worth "going back" for a while.

so .. change my mind for me :D

jasonwatkins
December 18th, 2007, 09:01 PM
to add a bit more to that, i'm currently using the latest version of linux mint, "celena".

if ubuntu 7.10 has that 'wow' factor then I might be persuaded to give it a whirl :)

sailor2001
December 18th, 2007, 09:02 PM
I was happy sailing along with dapper/edgy/fiesty and then I bought a 'n' router and the only way I could install was through windows.......damn...had to install the behemoth....

bruce89
December 18th, 2007, 09:03 PM
It'd be worthwhile dual booting in this situation, but you'll have to reinstall both Windows and Ubuntu to get this to work now.

maharbA
December 18th, 2007, 09:05 PM