PDA

View Full Version : Curious about writing to file

Kenchu
December 18th, 2007, 09:52 AM
I'm pretty new to Ubuntu and linux. I've noticed that usually all programs save their stuff @ homefolder with . (dot) appname. Just wondering if this "feature" is in the OS itself, or something programmers choose to implement themselves? Because I've got a Java IRC client, and it is saving stuff to a hidden folder in home. That made me think how it was implemented. Because java programs work on practically all OS. So was that part with writing files specialized, or is it something the OS handles itself?

Thx

EDIT

I must've explained myself confusingly. I meant more like the path to the file. Does the program have different implementations for each OS (with different paths), or is it the same for each (kinda like "save to user docs" or something, that results in My Documents if in windows, or Home if in linux, for example).

Majorix
December 18th, 2007, 10:37 AM
It is programmers who specify to save files that start with a dot. It is NOT the OS.

ghostdog74
December 18th, 2007, 01:31 PM
the "dot" in front of a file name/dir is supposed to be *nix way of specifying hidden files. IT IS an OS "feature". But whether to save files as hidden, is entirely up to whoever.

Kenchu
December 18th, 2007, 02:34 PM
I must've explained myself confusingly. I meant more like the path to the file. Does the program have different implementations for each OS (with different paths), or is it the same for each (kinda like "save to user docs" or something, that results in My Documents if in windows, or Home if in linux, for example).

cwaldbieser
December 18th, 2007, 02:36 PM
the "dot" in front of a file name/dir is supposed to be *nix way of specifying hidden files. IT IS an OS "feature". But whether to save files as hidden, is entirely up to whoever.

Isn't it more of a feature of the "ls" command and some window managers, rather than the OS?

ghostdog74
December 18th, 2007, 05:12 PM