PDA

View Full Version : Programming: From Zero to Hero?

PartisanEntity
December 17th, 2007, 06:03 PM
I have always hoped that I could teach myself how to use a programming language and then perhaps help develop Linux applications.

So my question is, is this realistic? I do not work in the IT field, neither do I have any IT background.

Is there anyone here who also comes from a non-IT and non-programming language environment, who taught themselves a programming language and then actually was good enough to help develop software?

Basically what I am asking is, is it worth investing the time and effort into this or should I stick to testing, translations and bug reporting?

LaRoza
December 17th, 2007, 06:10 PM
Yes, it is worth it and can be done.

I am by no means an expert, in fact, I am a beginner, but by constantly learning, I increase my ability everyday.

You don't have to have a degree, only knowledge. It is said by the auther of "The Cathedral and the Bazaar" that it will take two years of study to be a "hacker", realize the use of the word is not "cracker".

For Linux, C and Python will make a very good combination, and Perl and Java are very useful as well.

Good luck, and here's a little self promotion (well, not really, but it is mine): http://laroza.pbwiki.com

I hope you find it useful, and find programming as fun as I.

(I have less than a year of study under my belt, so to speak, but I am really interested in programming and it is fun to me)

lvleph
December 17th, 2007, 06:16 PM
I personally like the O'Reilly books (http://oreilly.com/) if you are looking for something to read.

I believe when LaRoza said C he/she meant C++.

LaRoza
December 17th, 2007, 06:19 PM
I believe when LaRoza said C he/she meant C++.

No, I meant C.

(C++ is a good language too, but my recommendation to learn C and Python still stands)