PDA

View Full Version : What is better now?

Yellowdog428
December 17th, 2007, 07:48 AM
I will preface this with I am new to Linux. I played around with 7.04 and have now jumped into 7.10 with a dual boot on my Desktop and a linux only laptop and I am moving more and more away from Windows. I am having a blast learning the ins and outs and learning a lot.

I read a lot of posts here on the forums and post a little of what I have learned but was wondering what has changed.

What I am looking for is what has changed over the course of a few years. What are some good things that you have seen Ubuntu do and what linux in general has done to make it a more "User friendly" OS.

For instance, I love that Ubuntu has included Samba with the OS. One of the first things I installed when playing with 7.04 was Samba. Sharing files with my windows network is KEY to me cause I am still very Windows dependant.

I think providing some desktop effects is important to appeal to the GUI types as well. One of the things thatt interested me in Ubuntu was seeing a video on youtube with people playing with Compiz.

I guess I am wondering about the evolution if Ubuntu (or even linux as a whole).

What are things that have changed that make your experience better or worse?

Also thanks everyone that has made this a great learning experience!
Cheers

kpkeerthi
December 17th, 2007, 07:55 AM
1. Compiz (fusion) seems to be very stable (on nvidia) to me. Never crashed so far.
2. Improved printer support. Pretty much plug and play.
3. Restricted media support: ubuntu-restricted-extras to the rescue.

macogw
December 17th, 2007, 08:07 AM
Wireless support has improved. I just posted in a thread where a Broadcom user was asking for help with Dapper. That card works very easily with Feisty or Gutsy.

jfank
December 17th, 2007, 08:19 AM