PDA

View Full Version : A thought about FreeBSD and Mac Leopard

Black Mage
December 16th, 2007, 06:59 PM
I'm not sure if I'm correct at all about this, so feel free to correct me if I'm wrong.

Mac OS X Leopard, like previous versions of Mac is Unix. Leopard is a version of Unix and FreeBSD and made for mac hardware. But since its FreeeBSD, if Leopard was installed on hardware that is not supported by Mac but uses the BSD drivers, like using an Asus motherboard with BSD drives, leopard should run on that hardware????

So to sum it up, if someone installed Leopard and used other BSD drivers, leopard should run on any hardware.....

Am I wrong?

jespdj
December 16th, 2007, 07:33 PM
I'm not a Mac expert and I don't know, but it is most likely not that simple. Mac OS X is based on BSD, but it is not the same as BSD. I'm sure Apple has changed it in such a way that it cannot be easily installed on non-Apple hardware.

If you want to know more about running Mac OS X on non-Apple hardware, have a look at OSx86 (http://www.osx86project.org/).

Xbehave
December 16th, 2007, 07:53 PM
mac is based on darwin which IIRC is bassed on bsd but not freebsd

The Noble
December 16th, 2007, 07:53 PM
I'm not a Mac expert and I don't know, but it is most likely not that simple. Mac OS X is based on BSD, but it is not the same as BSD. I'm sure Apple has changed it in such a way that it cannot be easily installed on non-Apple hardware.

If you want to know more about running Mac OS X on non-Apple hardware, have a look at OSx86 (http://www.osx86project.org/).

Yup, it's not that simple sadly. It's not a matter of drivers either, but the will off apple. They integrate some sort of chip into each of their parts that says it's from apple and the operating system does not talk if that is missing. OSX86 is a hack to remove that requirement.

DeadSuperHero
December 16th, 2007, 11:44 PM